Garlic Scape Pesto

What’s new lately?  It’s been a while.

We’re gearing up for the summer months, which means much travel and family time for me.  This year, we’re heading up to Bar Harbor for a week prior to my cousin’s wedding.  After that, a week in Wildwood, New Jersey, building sand castles and visiting family.  And finally, at the end of the summer, my sister is getting married!!

Also part of the summer months, enjoying all the great things from our garden!  This year, we planted sugar peas, which are ready to be picked, Romaine lettuce, sprinach, green beans, tomatoes, peppers, zucchini, cucumbers, carrots, dill, basil, parsley, and my chives have returned from last year.  As you know, we’re a big veggie eating family, so to supplement, we’ve joined a CSA through Frost Arrow Farm.  I’ve always wanted to join a CSA, but this is the first year doing so.  We’re only in the second week, but I’ve had fun researching and creating meals based on what’s in the box.

garlic scapePhoto Credit:  agardenforthehouse.com

This week’s mysterious visitor was garlic scapes.  Garlic scapes are the part of the garlic plant that you see above the ground.  It’s long and twisty and green.   If you’ve never seen a garlic scape, think Medusa’s hair.  I had fun chasing my boys around the kitchen yelling, “the snakes got me!  Help!”  They just thought I was weird and walked away.  Oh, well.  I’ll be trying a few different recipes with my scapes, but my first use was Garlic Scape Pesto over tortellini.  I have to say, while my breath could kill an army, it turned out really good.  This is definitely not first date fare, but if you are at your local farmer’s market in the next few weeks, and happen to see some scapes, they’re worth trying.

IMG_2744

Garlic Scape Pesto

1 bunch of garlic scapes, cut in two inch pieces.

1 C of parmesan cheese, or more depending on taste

1 C of olive oil

1/2 C walnuts

1 TB lemon juice

black pepper to taste

Place all ingredients in a food processor and puree until smooth. 

4 responses

Leave a Reply

