Pancake 101

An experimental breakfast:

We’re big pancake eaters in my house.  I’m always searching for the perfect pancake.  Light and Fluffy with that oh so delicious flavor, topped with pure maple syrup, powdered sugar and maybe some strawberries…ooh, I want to go make them now.  We love pancakes so much that we often have them for dinner.  I found a recipe for Banana Walnut Pancakes on Allrecipes, and I had ripe bananas to get rid of, so I thought what the heck!  So, as happens to the best of us, I was throwing things together when much to my dismay, I realized halfway through the recipe, I had no baking powder.  You can not have light and fluffy pancakes without baking powder!  I quickly looked online for a substitute for baking powder and found that mixing baking soda and cream of tartar would do the trick.  What resulted was the WORST pancake I have ever had.  FAIL! I knew it was bad when my two year old refused to eat them!  Anyway, here is the recipe for what is actually my tried and true pancake recipe.  This one is delicious, you’ll never need another recipe…seriously!  

The Best Pancakes Ever…Tell Me There Not, just try!

 

  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • cooking spray

 

  1. Combine milk with vinegar in a medium bowl and set aside for 5 minutes to “sour”.
  2. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large mixing bowl. Whisk egg and butter into “soured” milk. Pour the flour mixture into the wet ingredients and whisk until lumps are gone.
  3. Heat a large skillet over medium heat, and coat with cooking spray. Pour 1/4 cupfuls of batter onto the skillet, and cook until bubbles appear on the surface. Flip with a spatula, and cook until browned on the other side.

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. How many pancakes does this make? I’m looking to feed myself and four large, hungry boys and need to know if this would be enough.

  2. Pingback: American Pancakes and New Zealand Rugby | The Sound of a Door

Leave a Reply

