Meatloaf with Cranberry Garlic Barbeque Sauce

Ok, so this post may seem completely random, but I had so many thoughts popping in my head that they cannot be contained.  I’ll start with my inspiration…

Today, my thermometer took a downward spiral, and sent me into shear giddiness.  I love the Fall: sweatshirts, Halloween, pumpkins, apple picking, scarecrows, falling leaves,  the nerd in me is screaming “Marching Band!!” and I’m saying…shhh! They will judge you!  You won’t judge me, will you?  Anyway… and the mother of all holidays…Thanksgiving.  So, when I let my dog out, and felt that crisp air, I was elated.  It also means COMFORT FOOD!!!  Which, brings me to my next random thought….

There are three things that my mom can make better than anyone in the entire world.

1.)   Chocolate Chip Cookies

2.)   Chili

3.)   MEATLOAF

So, let’s recap…its Fall, comfort food, mom’s meatloaf.  Are you with me so far?  Ok, good. 

Now, I wanted to make Meatloaf, but I wanted to try to bring it to the next level.  It’s really hard to make Meatloaf anything other than, well, Meatloaf.  (Side Note:  all this writing of Meatloaf has me repeating over and over…Let me sleep on it, Baby baby, let me sleep on it…please stop judging me).  I found this recipe for Meatloaf with Blackberry BBQ sauce, but I didn’t have any Blackberries.  However, I did have Canned Whole Cranberries.  Let’s give it a whirl…

This brings me to my final random thought…do you know how hard it is to take a picture of Meatloaf and have it look appealing? It is next to impossible.  I took 16 photographs of Meatloaf.  I mean, who does that?  As it was cooking in the oven, it smelled SO good.  When it came out, it was bubbling and steaming, and I drooled on my shirt.  I’m not too proud to tell you that.  So, I thought I will take a picture of it.  Exhibit A–

 

But that’s not very artsy, is it?  I thought I could do better.  So, I put it on top of my piano.   This is all while my dog is following me around with the most pathetic face on.  Who could blame him though?  It really did smell good.  Did I mention the drool?  Exhibit B—

 

I wasn’t thrilled with that one either.  I finally just put the plate together and hoped that I could take a shot that would make someone want to eat this and relay the fact that it REALLY did smell good.  Here was my final attempt.  Exhibit C—

 

So, if any of those make you want to eat Meatloaf, then I’ve succeeded.  If not, I’m sorry, but Meatloaf just isn’t pretty.

 

Meatloaf with a Cranberry Garlic Barbeque Sauce.

This recipe is adapted from Dax Phillips. 

Ingredients for Meatloaf

1/2 lb ground sirloin

½ lb ground pork

½ C diced onion

½ tsp dried basil

½ tsp salt

½ tsp black pepper

3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped

1 TB Worcestershire sauce

1 egg, beaten

¾ C milk

3 pieces of white or wheat bread, crust removed, torn into small pieces

 

Ingredients for the Sauce

2 small onions, peeled, and quartered

2 cloves of garlic, rough chop

1 can Whole Cranberry Sauce

1 TB ground ginger

1 tsp cayenne pepper

generous pinch of salt

gernerous pinch of black pepper

 

Making the Sauce: Add the above ingredients to a blender, and puree until nice and smooth. Add this to a small pot, and cook on medium to low heat for about 20 minutes. Stir, and remove from the heat. When you make the meatloaf, add the sauce to the top before baking, and spread on the plate before serving.

First preheat your oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, combine all of your ingredients, with the exception of the bbq sauce. Get in there, get dirty and greasy from the meat. Once combined, add to your bread/loaf pan which is typically 5×9. Shape into the pan, then add your sauce to the top. Place in the oven for nearly one hour and 25 minutes.  After about 40 minutes, I expect you to begin doing a little dance and salivating all over yourself.

Once cooked, remove from the oven and let cool for 5 minutes.  In the meantime, warm up the extra sauce to serve with the Meatloaf.  Remove the loaf to a serving dish, and drizzle with the sauce. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

