Gingerbread Waffles

This weekend, my sister and I ran in the “Big Bash Obstacle Dash” Mud Run (organized by my brother). If you’ve never done a mud run, it is a 5k through hell.

I have this thing with having dirt underneath my fingernails. Perhaps, it stems from my childhood sitting next to Mr. Y in second grade and having to look at his disgusting dirty ears all day for an entire school year, so gross. Anyway, the run has you literally army crawling through mud; and not just your regular muddy dirt, I mean 2 feet of muddy sludge.

When I got to this part of the mud run, I had to thank Shaun T of Insanity for giving my the thigh power to squat my way through this mud pit because there was no way I was putting my hands into that. I spent the duration of the run saying how gross and miserable this was; but, in the end, after the slip n slide finish, the frolicking hand holding through the tire run with my sister, and a jog through the wilderness of Yogi Bear campground with my cousin, I thought, yeah, ok that was fun, let’s do it again.

At the end of the race, you get a free beer. Under normal circumstances, this would be awesome. However, we were wet and cold, and all I could think about was hot cider or chocolate. Which once again, got me thinking about that lovely fall weather, and so (you thought I’d never get to my point, didn’t you?) I bring you my breakfast on Sunday.


Gingerbread Waffles

2 C all-purpose flour

2 TB brown sugar

2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 ½ tsp pumpkin pie spice

½ tsp ground ginger

2 large eggs

2 C buttermilk

4 TB butter, melted and cooled

2 TB maple syrup

1. Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl. Set aside.

2. In a separate bowl, combine wet ingredients. Add to dry ingredients and mix. Don’t overbeat. Your batter should still be lumpy.

3. Heat up your waffle iron. Pour in your waffle mix (about ½ C). Cook until golden brown.

Enjoy with maple syrup, some fresh fruit, maple ice cream…mmmmm. Whatever toppings you want!

Leave a Reply

