Martha Stewart’s Apple and Onion Galettes

Ok, its happened.  I am SO sick of apples.  I’m pretty sure I can wait until next year before I even look at another apple.  On the bright side, I did make it through my many, many bags.  I fear for when my pumpkin craving hits.  I have yet to have my first Pumpkin Spice Latte, but I think its time is coming soon.  

This is the recipe that started off my apple binge.  I made it for my mom and sister (who are awesome) last weekend.  When we returned from the orchard, filled with an excitement of apple promises that have now grown cold, I told them I would make dinner.  This was at 4:00.  We finally were eating at 8:30.  So, heed my warning, start early, as there are many steps, and most of them require 30 minutes of wait time.  

We all agreed that these would be great appetizers for a Fall cocktail party.  But also, they would be killer with a little brie mixed in, and some chicken.  Mmm…We topped ours with Pepper Bacon. They are good on their own, but I would categorize this as a base recipe.  There is so much you could do with these, so share I am.  Be creative, and enjoy.

I hope you liked my apple recipes.  Normalcy returns on Monday.  I’ve decided I’m going to tackle one Julia Child recipe each week.  I’m starting with her infamous Chocolate and Almond Cake.  What could I call it…Jeudi avec Julia..French Chef Friday…Chubbing up with Child, no,that’s not good…what do you think?  

Martha Stewart’s Apple Galettes

  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 3 medium Gala apples, peeled, cored, halved, and sliced 1/4 inch thick
  • 8 medium yellow onions, halved and thinly sliced
  • 3 tablespoons cider vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • All-purpose flour, for dusting
  • Rosemary-Manchego Tart Dough (see below)
  • 1 cup coarsely grated manchego cheese (2 to 3 ounces)
  • Freshly ground pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. Heat oil and butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add apples and onions, and cook until golden brown, about 15 minutes. Cover, reduce heat to low, and cook until very soft and caramelized, about 35 minutes. Add vinegar and salt, and cook 5 minutes. Let cool.
  2. On a lightly floured surface, roll out dough to a generous 1/8 inch thick. Cut out six 7-inch rounds, gathering scraps and rerolling dough if needed. Place on parchment-lined baking sheets.
  3. Puree half the apple-onion mixture in a food processor until smooth. Using an offset spatula, spread 3 tablespoons apple-onion puree over each dough round, leaving a 1-inch border around edges. Sprinkle each with 2 tablespoons cheese. Season with pepper. Top each with a generous tablespoon of remaining apple-onion mixture, and sprinkle with 2 teaspoons cheese. Fold edges of dough in, crimping with your fingers. Refrigerate until chilled, about 30 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  4. Bake until edges are golden brown, 40 to 45 minutes. Serve tarts warm or at room temperature.

Manchengo-Rosemary Crust

  • 1 small parsnip (about 4 ounces), peeled
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon granulated sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1 1/2 sticks (12 tablespoons) cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1/2 cup finely grated manchego cheese (about 1 1/2 ounces)
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons finely chopped fresh rosemary
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/4 cup ice water

Directions

  1. Finely grate parsnip (you will need 1/2 cup). Place on a clean kitchen towel (do not use paper towels), and squeeze to extract as much liquid as possible.
  2. Pulse parsnip, flour, salt, sugar, pepper, butter, cheese, and rosemary in a food processor. Add yolk, and pulse to combine. With machine running, add ice water in a slow, steady stream, processing until dough just comes together (no longer than 15 seconds). Shape into a disk, and wrap in plastic. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes (or up to 2 days).

2 responses

Leave a Reply

