Spinach and Potato Breakfast Hash

Sometimes I stare at this screen.  I have absolutely nothing to say.  Other times, I have to write and rewrite what I say because it absolutely makes no sense.  I jump from idea to idea with no coherent link between the ideas.  Have you noticed that?  This is one of those times that I have nothing to say.  

I’ve gotten back in the routine of doing my Insanity Workouts.  I’ve been running all summer, but with the rainy weather and now the threat of some snow ?!?  I’ve given up on the idea that I’ll ever see the sun again.  I love Insanity and I hate it.  I love when I’m finished.  I hate getting started.  Some days it takes everything in me to hit that play button.  Yesterday was one of those days, but I did it, and now I feel good.  

I woke up this morning STARVING.  Most likely because I went to bed right after working out, and didn’t eat much during the day.  My body was angry at me and screaming to be fed.  I had some Salted Caramel Brownies (recipe coming tomorrow) in my fridge.  My preference would have been to eat those, but I thought better of it, and made this Spinach and Potato Breakfast Hash from Joy the Baker.  It did the trick.  It was filling and not awful for me.  Plus, I had everything I needed in my fridge…always a good thing.  

 

For those of you that workout, what kind of recovery shake do you use?  I usually use an Herbalife Shake, which is great.  I hear they make a new shake called Rebuild Endurance, but haven’t tried it yet.  Anyone use that?

 

Spinach and Potato Breakfast Hash from Joy the Baker

1 green bell pepper, diced into medium chunks

1 medium yellow onion, diced into medium chunks

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 1/2 pounds potatoes (russet or new potatoes will also be great), cut into bite-size chunks

4 tablespoons olive oil, divided

6 ounces sausage, cooked and sliced…I used vegetarian smoked style sausage, but any sausage would work.  Joy used Vegetarian chipotle.

1 heaping teaspoon fennel seeds

salt and pepper to taste

2 cups baby spinach leaves

2 to 4 eggs, fried to desired doneness

Place a rack in the center of the oven and preheat to 400 degrees F.  Place diced potatoes on a lined baking sheet and drizzle with about 2 tablespoons of olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Bake potatoes for 20-30 minutes, or until potatoes are cooked through.  Poke the potato chunks with a fork, if they’re tender they’re done.

Cook your sausage, if raw. Set aside.

While potatoes are baking, heat about 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large saucepan, over medium heat.  Add the diced peppers and onions and cook until browned and broken down, about 6 minutes.  Season with salt and pepper as it cooks.  Add the minced garlic, and cook for 1 minute more.  Remove from pan and place in a bowl to the side.

When potatoes are done roasting, remove from the oven.

Return the pan you cooked the onions and peppers in to medium heat.  Add the sliced, cooked sausage  and potatoes.  Pan fry until the sausage and potatoes have crispy bits on them.  Add the fennel seeds.  Stir.   Add the onion and pepper mixture and fold to incorporate.  Remove from the flame and add spinach leaves.  Toss to incorporate and wilt the leaves.

Fry your eggs, and serve.

This has will last for up to 4 days in the fridge.

Joy recommends saving the leftovers and mixing with black beans and salsa.  Putting it all on tortillas, and serving with cheese.

Leave a Reply

