Apple Crunch Muffins with Spelt Flour

Ok, I said I was done with apples. I lied. If I say I’m sorry, is it ok?

My mom used to tell us when we were little that saying I’m sorry is like stabbing someone in the back and trying to take the knife out. While I get what she was trying to say, it’s a little disturbing, don’t you think?

I was going to post my croissants that I made over the weekend, but instead, I was inspired to post these little muffins.

When I first made them, I wasn’t even going to put them up here. I didn’t think they were good enough for me to even want to remember the recipe. But now, a week later and having eaten them for breakfast everyday, they’ve kind of grown on me. Actually, more than grown on me, I now think they’re quite good.

You see, when we were younger, my mom used to buy the most AMAZING muffins from “My Favorite Muffin”. She’d freeze them, and we could have muffins the size of our heads for weeks on end. Pumpkin with Cream Cheese, Chocolate Chip, Chocolate Chocolate Chip, Cinnamon Crunch, Banana Nut, oh the many muffins and endless bounty that freezer held. And thus, my muffin addiction began. Yes Mom, I blame you.

I am a carb breakfast addict. I will take a donut, muffin, pancake, scone, or bagel over eggs and bacon, any day of the week. There is nothing I love more than a cup of coffee and a muffin. My thighs love them even more. And because of that, I am on the hunt for delicious low-fat, whole grain muffins. It’s not an easy task, but it can be done.

The reason I was inspired to post these muffins is because I sat in a doctor’s office for 4 1/2 hours today. I got there at 10 with my 6 month old, wheezing and teary eyed, and left at 2:30 after two steroid injections and a nebulizer treatment. I ate breakfast at 7 a.m. These lovely little muffins with a cup of coffee held me over. I ate nothing else until dinner tonight. And I wasn’t all that hungry. Sure, it could have been the stress of having a sick little man, but I’m going to give the muffins their credit.

So, if you’re a carb addict, like me, and you just can’t seem to give up your muffin and coffee, this recipe is for you.

Oh, and my son is fine 🙂

**In my second batch, I skipped the Crunch Topping. They turned out better. The first time, the walnuts fell into the muffins and made this inverted muffin-ish looking thing. The second time, they looked like the real deal.

Apple Walnut Crunch Spelt Muffins

From Anne of Fannetastic Foods

(makes 12 muffins)

Ingredients:

Dry:

  • 2 C spelt flour
  • 3/4 C brown sugar
  • 1/3 C finely ground flaxseed
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Wet:

  • 1.5 C apples, chopped into small pieces
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 C skim or 1% milk
  • 1/2 C plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 C walnuts, chopped

Crunch Topping:

  • 1.5 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 C walnuts, chopped

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 300 (spelt bakes more quickly than regular flour!).

In two large bowls, separately mix dry and wet ingredients. Add wet ingredients to dry, stirring until mixed. Spoon into a cooking-sprayed or nonstick muffin pan. Top each muffin with a sprinkling of topping mixture. Bake for 30 minutes – fork check to make sure they are done.

2 responses

  1. I will confess here on your blog that I, too, am a carb addict. Perhaps we can all join together and make some sort of Carboholics Anonymous…but I digress…these muffins look and sound yummy and I will definitely have to try them. They also reminded me of a really good recipe that I have for muffins that I just might have to make again too and post the recipe for you and all of us ‘carb’ people. 🙂 I love your blog. Keep it up. I’ve also added you to my favorite blogs sidebar thingy. I want to make sure I don’t lose track of your great recipes. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

