Homemade Oreos, a post for Jonah

I am on a homemade kick.  We had homemade Cheez-Its, homemade Pop Tarts, and now, homemade Oreos.

Part of this stems from the Holiday Baking Exchange I mentioned in a previous post.

This week’s challenge on MyBakingAddiction and Goodlife Eats is Chocolate, sponsored by Sharffen Berger. So what better excuse to fatten up and make these bad boys than a Holiday Exchange Challenge?

I had a theory that I was going to make these and give them all to my sister’s boyfriend.  There is a tiny problem with this theory….they are all gone.  

The beginning of something beautiful.

I had to try one, of course.  Then, my husband came home, he needed to try three.  I sent some to my neighbor.  I gave one to my son.  I had to try another one, just to make sure.  Then, my husband ate two more.  So, sorry Jonah, but there are no more.  I’ll make them again, just for you.  Really.  And better!

See, I have a theory on these.  The cookie, is not Oreo like.  It’s cakey; more like those Oreo Cakesters.  I have a thought that you have to make the cookie really, really flat.  I’ll experiment more and let you know. And when I perfect them, I will put a giant bow on them and claim them in the name of Jonah Delso.  

Oh, and I’ll buy him a gallon of milk…cause he’s gonna need it.

 

Homemade Oreos

From Smitten Kitchen

Makes 25 to 30 sandwich cookies (I only got 12…I guess mine were too big)

For the chocolate wafers:
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup unsweetened Dutch process cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 to 1 1/2 cups sugar **I used 1 C, to be less sweet, like the real deal.
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) room-temperature, unsalted butter
1 large egg

For the filling:
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) room-temperature, unsalted butter
1/4 cup vegetable shortening
2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Set two racks in the middle of the oven. Preheat to 375°F.
In a food processor, or bowl of an electric mixer, thoroughly mix the flour, cocoa, baking soda and powder, salt, and sugar. While pulsing, or on low speed, add the butter, and then the egg. Continue processing or mixing until dough comes together in a mass.
Take rounded teaspoons of batter and place on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet approximately two inches apart. With moistened hands, slightly flatten the dough. Bake for 9 minutes, rotating once for even baking. Set baking sheets on a rack to cool.
To make the cream, place butter and shortening in a mixing bowl, and at low speed, gradually beat in the sugar and vanilla. Turn the mixer on high and beat for 2 to 3 minutes until filling is light and fluffy.
To assemble the cookies, in a pastry bag with a 1/2 inch, round tip, pipe teaspoon-size blobs of cream into the center of one cookie. Place another cookie, equal in size to the first, on top of the cream. Lightly press, to work the filling evenly to the outsides of the cookie. Continue this process until all the cookies have been sandwiched with cream. Dunk generously in a large glass of milk.

***Update: I made another batch! I am in love!! Ok, so I used a much smaller amount of dough. The teaspoon that the recipe suggests is perfect, but I more than slightly flattened the dough. I flattened it like a pancake. They came out perfectly! Jonah, you are SO lucky!!

14 responses

  1. I also tried Smitten Kitchen’s recipe! Mine actually ended up flattening out A LOT in the oven…they ended up about twice the size of normal Oreos! But they tasted just like them. If you read some of the comments on that post some people say that the cocoa might make a difference. I think I used non-alkalized, good ol’ fashioned Hershey’s.

  2. I have been meaning to make these! I love treats like these from scratch (I actually have something along the same lines coming up tomorrow). Thanks for the tips on how much dough to use, super helpful!

  3. I had the same problem when I made the recipe off Smitten Kitchen – the cookies were soft and cakey, not what I was expecting! I always meant to try again, making the cookies flatter and baking longer to get them crisp. Putting these back on my To-Bake List!

    • I found I had to roll the dough into my hand in the shape of a ball. Put them on parchment paper, and flatten them to the size of a silver dollar. Then back 5 minutes, rotate the pan in the oven, and then 4 more minutes. This made them flat and crispy like an oreo.

Leave a Reply

