1000 Views and Croissants

Thanks everyone for helping me get to 1000 views on my blog! To celebrate, let’s break out our butter and our rolling pins and make some croissants.

Making croissants has been on my baking bucket list, but I never had an occasion that justified the 12 hours it takes to make these. I still didn’t have an occasion, but I saw a few posts featuring these buttery beauties and I figured their time had come.

I used to go to this awesome bakery when I was going up. I’m not sure if it had a name, but we called it Pierre and Bobby’s. They made the best croissants. They had everything though, bear claws, tarts, pies, cakes, and a really cool LuLu cracker poster. We went there every Sunday. I always said they’d make my wedding cake. They didn’t. Sigh…

Anyway, continuing on the Croissant Express, my husband and I went to Europe for a month a few years ago, and while in Switzerland, I had the most amazing thing I’ve ever had. You know how sometimes you have something so great, you can still remember exactly what it tasted like? This was mine. It was chocolate and caramel with nuts, and a little bit of heaven added to put it over the edge. When we came back to the States, we got coffee and croissants one day, just for fun. It wasn’t the same. Not even close. Sigh…

So, it was my time. My turn to try to replicate those flaky pastries the French do so well. Did I succeed? No. But, it was the closest thing I’ve had, since Pierre and Bobbies.

There is no way I’m writing all the directions. There are 50 steps to making croissants. If you’d like to try it out, and you should, someday. Maybe when there is a blizzard, and you’re snowed in for a week, and you are totally and completely mind-numbingly bored.

If you’d like the full recipe, you can get it here.

Thanks again for your visits! Tell a friend about me, and maybe we can get to 2000, just as fast!  Have a great weekend!  See you on Monday!

17 responses

  1. This is the second croissant making blog I’ve seen this week… they are calling to me! But I’m too terrified to try! I tried once and believe you are correct, there are 50 steps. I know I messed one of them up because mine didn’t look as perfect and delicious as your! Awesome!

Leave a Reply

