Beef & Pumpkin Stew

So, this week’s Holiday Exchange Challenge was One Pot Meals.  I don’t really have too many of those.  I have some crockpot meals and a few casseroles, but not too many one pot recipes.  I have the usual chili and soups, but I wanted to do something a little different.  With that in mind, let me introduce you to my new friend.

 

I know, it’s not much to look at, but beauty is on the inside.

This week’s prize is a Le Creuset Dutch Oven.  I think I’d just be the happiest girl in the world if I won. 

I had mine with couscous (don’t be such a couch couscous, remember that commercial?  Anyone?), but my husband and I agreed, it would be much better with mashed potatoes.  Also, I didn’t have cardamom, so I used cinnamon.  Then, when I put it in bowls, I added a little dash of cinnamon into each bowl.  Also, I added a little more salt than the recipe called for, as it was a little on the bland side at first.   

This is a combination of two recipes.  One from The Rodale Whole Foods Cookbook and the other is Taste of Home.  Has anyone made the Taste of Home recipe?  It looks awesome! I just don’t have that kind of time on my hands 🙂 Check it out here.

What is your favorite one-pot meal?  I’m looking forward to getting some ideas over at Jamie’s page.

You should come too!

Come join the fun at the My Baking Addiction and GoodLife Eats Holiday Recipe Exchange sponsored by Le Creuset.

On a side note, I don’t know if anyone else saw this post, but you should definitely check it out.  It’s ingenious, and delicious.

Pumpkin & Beef Stew

Adapted from The Rodale Whole Foods Cookbook & Taste of Home

2Tb vegetable oil

1 1/2 lbs trimmed beef chuck, cut into 1-inch chunks

1 large onion, coarsely chopped

1 rib celery, thinly sliced

1 green pepper, diced

1  tsp salt 

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cardamom (I used cinnamon)

1/4 tsp black pepper

1 1/2 C water 

1 Tb beef bouillion

1 can diced tomatoes, undrained

2 lb fresh pumpkin, peeled and cut into 3 inch chunks (you can use butternut squash, too)

2 Tb Lemon Juice

***1 Tb Cornstarch blended with 1/4 C water (I did not do this, and it turned out fine.  If you find your stew is too watery, you may want to add this)

In a Dutch Oven (hopefully my LeCreuset!), heat the oil over medium heat.  Add the beef, working in batches if neccessary, and cook until browned all over.  Using a slotted spoon, transfer the beef to a bowl.

Add the onion, celery, and bell pepper to the pan and cook, stirring occasionally, until the onion is tender, about 7 minutes.

Stir in the seasonings, and return beef to the pan.  Add the water, bouillion, and tomatoes.  Reduce to a simmer, cover, and cook for 45 minutes.

Stir in the pumpkin and lemon juice.  Cover and simmer until the meat and pumpkin are tender, about 30 minutes.

***Stir in the cornstarch mixture and cook, stirring constantly, until the sauce bubbles and thickens, about 3 minutes.

 

5 responses

  1. I am loving all the pumpkin recipes that I have been seeing lately! This one sounds fantastic. I just made Beef Stew last night, but I’ll definitely be throwing in some pumpkin the next time around. Thanks so much for entering this One Pot Meal in the Holiday Recipe Exchange!

Leave a Reply

