Pumpkin Scones with a Maple Glaze

I’m trying to pace myself.  

It’s only October.

But it’s so hard.

As soon as Starbucks put up their Pumpkin Spice Latte signs, I fell hard.  I had Pumpkin Pie on Saturday, made Pumpkin scones yesterday, and am having Beef & Pumpkin stew tomorrow.  Pumpkin and I are like BFFs right now.  

Furthermore, Pinterest is not helping.  Do you know how many people are posting pumpkin recipes?  Um, like Everyone.  I just saw a recipe for Pumpkin Spice Latte Cupcakes.  CUPCAKES!!!  Um, yes please.  Don’t be surprised if you see those here tomorrow.

Here is my question, if Apples and Pumpkins rule September, October and November, and Gingerbread and Peppermint are the boss of December and January, and obviously Chocolate for February, who gets March, April, and May until Summer comes back around?

I’m very sorry if you get sick of Pumpkins before Thanksgiving, and if you’re from Canada, then I’m really sorry because you’re done with Thanksgiving, and I’m just getting started!  I can’t do things in small doses.  It’s all or nothing.  I seriously have five cans of Pumpkin in my cupboard.  

5.

Considering these Scones only used 1/2 C, I’d say I’m in trouble.

 Pumpkin Scones with a Maple Glaze

  • 1-½ cup Unbleached Flour
  • ½ cups Wheat Flour
  • 3 Tablespoons Dark Brown Sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • ½ teaspoons Baking Soda
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • 1-½ teaspoon Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • 6 Tablespoons Butter, cut into pieces
  • ⅓ cups Chopped Dried Apples
  • ⅓ cups Dried Cranberries
  • ⅓ cups Raisins
  •  Large Egg
  • ¼ cups Buttermilk
  • ½ cups Canned Pumpkin Puree
  • ⅔ cups Powdered Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons Maple Syrup

Mix the flours, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and pumpkin pie spice in a medium bowl. Cut in butter until crumbly. Add the apples, cranberries, and raisins. Set aside.

Mix the egg, buttermilk, and pumpkin in a small bowl. Add to the flour mixture and stir to form a sticky dough.

Knead the dough 8 times or until the dough holds together on a lightly floured surface. Push dough into a circle 1 inch thick and about 8 inches in diameter. Using a round cookie cutter, cut 8 circles from the dough. Place on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Bake at 400ºF for 15 to 20 minutes or until crusty and golden brown. Let cool on a wire rack.

Combine powdered sugar and syrup. Mix until smooth. Drizzle on cooled scones. Freeze without glaze for up to 1 month.

4 responses

Leave a Reply

