Orange Infused Pumpkin Custard, Crock-Pot Style

So, I’m not really big on using the crock pot.  It’s not that I don’t like it, I just haven’t found a recipe that hasn’t come out either dry or gushy or flavorless.  

That’s not true.  I like a Cranberry Pulled Pork recipe.  But other than soup, chili, and shredded things, I just have not been successful in the crock pot realm.

So, this week’s Holiday Exchange recipe was for Crock Pot meals.  My thought, sigh.  I could have skipped it I guess, but I’ve had fun the past two weeks making new things, and seeing what everyone else linked up.  I just didn’t want to pass it up.  So, I thought I’d go outside of the box.  (For me, at least)

This custard was pretty good.  It basically tastes like the inside of a pumpkin pie, but with a hint of orange.  The problem with it was that each bite I took, I expected to taste crust, and I didn’t.  I would make it again because it was so easy, and nice to have a pain free dessert waiting.  But, if you’re going to have pumpkin pie, have pumpkin pie.  You know?  

I think this would be awesome in chocolate.  I’m going to try to create something magical and chocolatey in my crock pot.  Oh, the excitement…

Come join the fun at the My Baking Addiction and GoodLife Eats Holiday Recipe Swap sponsored by West Bend

Orange Pumpkin Custard

From Better Homes and Gardens

Ingredients

3 eggs, slightly beaten

1 C Pumpkin, canned 

1/2 C sugar

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp allspice

1/4 tsp freshly grated orange peel

1 C evaporated milk (13 oz)

Directions:

Combine eggs, pumpkin, sugar, cinnamon, allspice and orange peel; stir in milk. Pour into a 1 qt souffle dish. Cover tightly with foil.  Take 2-20 x6 sheets of foil and fold in thirds. Crisscross sheets and place souffle dish in center.  Lift from foil and place into a 4-5 qt crock pot.  Fill crock pot with 1 1/2 inches of water.  Cook on low for four hours or until a knife comes out cleanly.  Lift from foil and remove from crockpot.  Serve warm or cold with whipped cream and chopped pecans.

5 responses

Leave a Reply

