Just the healthiest muffin of all time…

Ok, so post-halloween binge has caught up with me. I think I’ve eaten an entire bag of Almond Joys by myself. And am wondering, why am I not sick of these? Why could I consume another bag?

Ben brought home some Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups that his students gave him, and I ate those too. I’m feeling bad about it, so don’t make me feel worse.

With all this junk eating the past few days, I decided its time for a cleanse. I’m on a total health food kick. I’m seeing how many vegetables and fruits I can put into my body in a 24 hour period. The problem with this theory is that I’m still a carb addict, and a muffin must enter my mouth every 24 hours, or else I think the world might end or something horrible like that. Now, I’m going to tell you, these are not delicious muffins. So, why make them? Because, they are just about the healthiest muffin on the block. And, I’m being a little harsh. They’re good, but like a 6 out of 10 good. I’m doing it for the cleanse. Because I must eat chocolate chip cookies at least once a month, and because its almost Thanksgiving, which means Christmas cookies are right around the corner. So, make healthy muffins, I must. Enjoy, I will. But claim them awesome, I won’t.

Oh, BTWs…this is my last pumpkin recipe for the year…maybe.

Pumpkin Morning Glory Muffins

Original recipe is here. Maybe they’re better? I don’t know. Try both and let me know. Mine’s healthier.

Makes 17 muffins

scant 1 cup sugar
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup white whole wheat flour

1/4 C rolled oats

2 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (use all cinnamon if you wish)
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup shredded, sweetened coconut
3/4 cup raisins
1 large apple, peeled and grated
8 ounces (1 cup) crushed pineapple, drained
2 cups grated carrots
1/2 cup coarsely chopped pecans or walnuts
3 large eggs
1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
1/2 cup canned (plain) pumpkin
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Put your rack in the lower third of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees F.

In a large bowl, whisk together the first 7 ingredients (or 6 if you’re using only one flour), then add the coconut, raisins, apple, pineapple, carrots, and nuts. Stir this all together. It will be messy looking and dry, but stay with me.

In a smaller bowl, whisk the eggs, oil, pumpkin, and vanilla. Pour over the dry ingredients and mix to combine.

Grease your muffin tins, or use paper liners if you prefer. Fill each cup 3/4 filled.

Bake for 30-35 minutes and do the toothpick test. (should come out clean.) Cool muffin in the pan for 10 minutes and then cool completely on your rack.

3 responses

  1. I love a great Morning Glory muffin… and I, too, am addicted to carbs.. I have to not eat them until dinner time or will start devouring them all day long!! Still trying to figure out what to do with the candy I didn’t hand out… maybe the food bank?? But that seems wrong some how?

Leave a Reply

