Cranberry Strawberry Jam or Guess What You’re Getting for Christmas

So, did you think I fell off the Earth?  I didn’t.  But, I do have a new respect for bloggers with crawling children.  How do they have time to do this?? I have one eye on my 9 month old while he is climbing up my piano bench, ready to crash to the ground at any second.  Anyway, this is my homemade holiday gift, and it is very festive.  I’ll be giving it out with Cranberry Orange Scones, which with any luck, will be posted tomorrow.  

So, thanks for hanging in there.  I’ll try to do better, I promise!!

Cranberry Strawberry Jam

Adapted from SURE.JELL

Makes 5 C of Jam

1 pkg of fresh cranberries (12 oz)

1 lb of strawberries, fresh or frozen, sliced

1 box SURE.JELL Pectin

1/2 tsp butter, for foam

3 C sugar* 

1 spoon in ice water

Pulse cranberries in food processor.  Place in 5 qt sauce pan.  Add sliced strawberries, butter, and pectin.  Heat to a rolling boil.  Add sugar, return to a rolling boil and boil for 1 minute.  Place spoon in jam.  If jam sets, it is done, remove from heat.  If not, continue boiling for another minute.  Typically jelly and jam should be at 220 degrees.

Ladel in jars.  Put on lid, and flip for five minutes.  Or do what I did, and place in a water bath for 10 minutes.  Let cool.  

**Original recipe calls for frozen sliced strawberries in sugar, and 3 3/4 C of sugar.  I think its too sweet, but that’s my preference.  You may like yours a little sweeter.

 

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Cranberry Orange Scones | Cook.Bake.Eat.Love

Leave a Reply

